Alex Binelas celebrates with teammates
Freshman utility player Alex Binelas celebrates with his teammates after scoring in Game 1 of the NCAA Super Regional against East Carolina. | Photo by Jeremy Chisenhall

University of Louisville baseball completed its sweep of East Carolina University on Saturday, winning the NCAA Super Regional and advancing to the College World Series in Omaha, Nebraska.

The seventh-ranked Cardinals rolled right through the Pirates, outscoring them by a combined 25 runs over the two games. The clinching game was a 12-0 shutout for UofL.

The Cardinals’ offense got going early and never let up, as junior outfielder Drew Campbell drove in two runs with a triple in the top of the second and proceeded to score on a wild pitch later in the inning. That made it 3-0 in favor of the Cardinals.

UofL followed that up with another three runs in the third, as junior infielder Justin Lavey drove in two runs with a single and freshman catcher Henry Davis returned the favor with a base hit that brought Lavey around to score as well. The big inning put UofL up 6-0.

That was one of two RBIs for the freshman catcher. His other came in the top of the fifth with another single. That started yet another three-run inning for the Cardinals, as sophomore utility player Lucas Dunn and junior first baseman Logan Wyatt drove in runs as well. It was 9-0 Cardinals after five.

The Cardinals were held off the scoreboard for several innings after the fifth. They didn’t score again until the top of the ninth, but they again drove in three runs as Lavey, Dunn and senior catcher Zeke Pinkham each recorded RBI base hits.

Sophomore right hander Bobby Miller got the win after going eight full innings and allowing just one hit with five strikeouts. ECU sophomore pitcher Alec Burleson was given the loss after going just two innings and giving up three runs.

UofL is the first team to punch its ticket to the College World Series this season. The College World Series takes eight teams and splits them into two brackets with four teams. The winner of each bracket will advance to best of three series for the National Championship. The 2019 College World Series begins June 15.

[dc_ad size="9"] [dc_ad size="10"]